Heisman Trophy finalists : Top candidates to win 2020 award, Updated odds

Simply enduring the 2020 season was a noteworthy accomplishment for school football players managing COVID-19 flare-ups in their projects and timetable turmoil that dismantled week after week schedules.

A few competitors stood apart over the lay for their on-field exhibitions. Four Heisman Trophy finalists were declared Thursday night, and six other vote-getters were likewise perceived and recorded arranged by finish. The finalists are DeVonta Smith, Mac Jones, Trevor Lawrence and Kyle Trask.

The Heisman victor will be proclaimed on Jan. 5 of every a virtual service. Votes have just been submitted, so bowl execution won’t influence the choice.

Smith, the main collector for highest level Alabama, is the top choice for the honor, having amassed 1,511 accepting yards and 17 scores this year.

Here is a glance at the chances, finalists and memorable champs for the Heisman Trophy:

Current Heisman award odds 2020

Over the previous week, DeVonta Smith and Trevor Lawrence have had their Heisman chances rise, while Kyle Trask blurred after a misfortune to Alabama. Macintosh Jones is about equivalent to where he was before the SEC title game.

Below are the updated 2020 Heisman award odds.

DeVonta Smith (WR, Alabama)-180
Mac Jones (QB, Alabama)+155
Trevor Lawrence (QB, Clemson)+1600
Kyle Trask (QB, Florida)+2700

Who are the Heisman finalists?

The Heisman finalists were declared Thursday night. Alabama hostile team Mac Jones and DeVonta Smith made the cut, while Tide running back Najee Harris missed the mark concerning a finalist position with a fifth-place casting a ballot finish. Clemson quarterback Trevor Lawrence and Florida quarterback Kyle Trask were likewise named finalists, joining Jones and Smith.

Alabama crushed Florida this previous end of the week in the SEC title game. Clemson overturned Notre Dame in the ACC title game.

Alabama and Clemson will be essential for the forthcoming College Football Playoff.

2020 Heisman voting order

The request for vote-getters outside the main four Heisman finalists was uncovered Thursday night.

10Kyle Pitts (TE, Florida)
9Ian Book (QB, Notre Dame)
8Zach Wilson (QB, BYU)
7Justin Fields (QB, Ohio State)
6Breece Hall (RB, Iowa State)
5Najee Harris (RB, Alabama)

When is the Heisman Trophy given out?

The 2020 Heisman Trophy will be given out on Jan. 5 at 7 p.m. ET. The honor is decided on by school football media individuals around the nation. It is the most renowned individual honor in school football, and presumably the most pined for across every beginner sport.

Historic Heisman Trophy winners

The Heisman Trophy has been spread around the nation over the previous decade, with individuals from five unique meetings guaranteeing the honor. The focal point of the school football media world may now and again appear to be the SEC, however three of the previous four press-casted a ballot champs have hailed from outside that meeting.

This year, fans could see the main wide recipient picked since 1991.

Here are the previous 10 Heisman Trophy victors:

YearPlayerTotal votesMargin of victory
2019Joe Burrow, QB, LSU2,6081,846
2018Kyler Murray, QB, Oklahoma2,167296
2017Baker Mayfield, QB, Oklahoma2,3981,098
2016Lamar Jackson, QB, Louisville2,144620
2015Derrick Henry, RB, Alabama1,832293
2014Marcus Mariota, QB, Oregon2,5341,284
2013Jameis Winston, QB, Florida State2,2051,501
2012Johnny Manziel, QB, Texas A&M2,029323
2011Robert Griffin III, QB, Baylor1,687280
2010Cam Newton, QB, Auburn2,2631,184

About Author

Disclaimer: The views, suggestions, and opinions expressed here are the sole responsibility of the experts. No Feature Georgia Heralds was involved in the writing and production of this article.